News News from Hungary Min­is­ters of Fifth Orbán Gov­ern­ment Sworn In

Min­is­ters of Fifth Orbán Gov­ern­ment Sworn In

Prime Min­is­ter Vik­tor Orbán’s fifth gov­ern­ment was formed as its four­teen min­is­ters took their oaths of office in par­lia­ment on Tuesday.

Before the oath-tak­ing, a tran­script of Pres­i­dent Katal­in Novák’s for­mal appoint­ment of the min­is­ters was read out.

Accord­ing to the tran­script, János Csák heads a new cul­tur­al and inno­va­tion min­istry, Gerge­ly Gulyás the prime minister’s office, János Lázár is in charge of the new min­istry of con­struc­tion and invest­ment. István Nagy stays on as min­is­ter of agri­cul­ture, while for­mer deputy cen­tral bank gov­er­nor Már­ton Nagy is min­is­ter with­out port­fo­lio for eco­nom­ic development.

For­mer Euro­pean com­mis­sion­er Tibor Navrac­sics will serve as min­is­ter for region­al devel­op­ment and the util­i­sa­tion of EU funds, Lás­zló Palkovics heads the min­istry of tech­nol­o­gy and indus­try. Sán­dor Pin­tér stays on as inte­ri­or min­is­ter, Antal Rogán remains in charge of the cab­i­net office, and Zsolt Semjén will serve as min­is­ter respon­si­ble for poli­cies for Hun­gar­i­an com­mu­ni­ties abroad and poli­cies for nation­al minori­ties and church rela­tions as well as church diplomacy.

Kristóf Sza­lay-Bobrovniczky is the new defence min­is­ter, Péter Szi­jjártó con­tin­ues as min­is­ter of for­eign affairs and trade, Judit Var­ga stays on as jus­tice min­is­ter, and Mihá­ly Var­ga con­tin­ues as finance minister.

Economic Sectors Get Priority in Fifth Orbán Government

Accord­ing to ana­lyst Gerge­ly Raj­nai, the two most impor­tant short and medi­um-term chal­lenges for the new gov­ern­ment are the Russ­ian-Ukrain­ian war and the infla­tion crisis.

Under Hungary’s con­sti­tu­tion, the gov­ern­ment is formed by the appoint­ment of min­is­ters, who are appoint­ed by the pres­i­dent at the rec­om­men­da­tion of the prime minister.

Law­mak­ers re-elect­ed Orbán as prime min­is­ter on May 16.